IamInfoSMART Amazing Race 2019

One of the goals of the IamInfoSMART program of the DLSU Libraries is to make the learning activities fun and interactive. For this purpose, the Libraries annually holds the Amazing Race as one the main events of IamInfoSMART. This year’s Amazing Race was organized in partnership with Globe GCash and was held at The Learning Commons, 6th floor, Henry Sy, Sr. Hall, De La Salle University on 15 November 2020, 8:00 A.M. - 12:00 P.M.

Based on the reality TV series, the contest will lead participants to different sections of main library where they must perform various tasks in a race against other teams. This activity aims to teach students how to (1) determine the nature and extent of information needed; (2) find and locate the needed information effectively and efficiently; (3) evaluate information sources; and (4) use information ethically and legally.

There were eight pit stops prepared for the participants and the teams may start at any pit stop. Details for each challenge were accessible via QR codes. Challenges include scavenger hunt where students were asked to find various types of library materials; cashing-in with GCash; using the services such as Suggest-a-Purchase and self-checkout machines; finding resources using the library’s discovery service, and use of proper citation format of resources. An activity involving Makerspace where students was asked to a do-it-yourself (DIY) activity and an online quiz to test the participants’ general knowledge of the library were also included in the challenges.

A total of twenty-eight participants, equivalent to 14 teams, from student groups and Balay members consisting of staff and non-teaching faculty of DLSU joined the IamInfoSMART 2019 Amazing Race.

 Winners from the student groups were as follows: 

  • 1st place     :    Joshua Piollo Sta. Ana & Galvin Ray Dizon
  • 2nd place    :    Mikka Abarra & Nga Kwan Yeung
  • 3rd place     :    Maria Francesca Plata & Jed Alric Cong

Winners from the Balay representatives were as follows: 

  • 1st place     :     Balay Benilde / Members: Renebeth Payod & Ronald Ignacio
  • 2nd place    :     Balay Mutien / Members: Lee De Jesus & Marianne Angeli Samson
  • 3rd place     :     Balay Solomon / Members: Joseph Anthony Anonuevo & Chuckiejoy Del Rio-Macunay.