Friday, January 18, 2013

59th General Assembly and Induction Ceremony of the ASLP

(L-R) Hon. Corazon M. Nera, Chair, BFL;
Mr. Joseph Yap, ASLP President;
Ms. Elizabeth R. Peralejo, President, PLAI;
Ms. Alicia S. Paraiso, Ex-officio, ASLP
16 January 2013, De La Salle University (DLSU), Learning Commons - The new set of officers of the Association of Special Libraries of the Philippines (ASLP) for 2013 was inducted.  The Learning Commons takes pride as this year's president elect is a librarian from DLSU, Mr. Joseph Yap, who is currently assigned at the DLSU Makati Extension Campus (MEC). The event was graced by Ms. Corazon Nera, Chairman, Board for Librarians (BFL), and was attended by members of ASLP and librarians from DLSU.

The inducting officer was no less than Ms. Elizabeth Peralejo, Philippine Librarians Association, Inc. (PLAI) President.   In her inspirational message, she challenged library professionals to become more proactive by learning the language of the new generation-- “digital natives” or “millennials,” -- the ones who have grown up with the Internet.  Further she posted a suggestion to change the title “special librarian” to “special library professionals.”

Ms. Ana Maria Fresnido, Director of the DLSU Library, in her opening remarks, welcomed the participants to the Henry Sy, Sr. Hall, the new home of the Learning Commons.  She also mentioned that despite being an Academic/Research Library, DLSU fully supports ASLP in its endeavor as DLSU likewise houses and manages various special collections.

Ms. Alicia Paraiso, the outgoing president, gave highlights on the achievements of the ASLP 2012 Board.  One remarkable accomplishment was the successful renewal of the organization's Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) registration thru the efforts of Ms. Shirley Ingles-Cruz. She also enumerated the various seminar-workshops, forums, outreach programs, and library tours that the Association organized and conducted. The signifcant increase of membership of up to 101% is credited to the hard work and efforts of Ms. Mercedita Servida and Mr. Joseph Yap.  Likewise, the quarterly ASLP Newsletter was published on time accessible on the ASLP wiki.

Congratulations to the 2013 ASLP Board composed of the following:

Joseph M. Yap, De La Salle University.
Vice President
Ma. Luisa R. Madlangbayan, Supreme Court of the Philippines
Gladys Joy E. Entico, Makati Medical Center
Avelina T. Sayson, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority
Maria Cecilia I. Ayson, Filipinas Heritage Library
Huwaran Mapalarin-Sinag C. Galora, STI Caloocan
Teresita R. Casio, National Statistics Office
Mercedita B. Servida, Lopez Museum and Library
Alma Mila D. Prosperoso, World Health Organization
Rey E. Pacheco, Manila Bulletin.
Alicia S. Paraiso, Goethe-Institut Philippinen
Jesusa C. Manhit, Office of the Press Secretary (Ret.)
Milagros S. Ong, Supreme Court of the Philippines
Valentina T. Tabayoyong, Philippine Institute for Development Studies
Shirley Ingles-Cruz, Commission on Appointments


  1. It is very good, but look at the information at this address. duplicate checker

  2. Then don't worry with this plagiarism checker tool you can check if your content is getting plagiarized and the sources where it's being posted on.

  3. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after
    going through some of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon it and
    I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!
    My Web : we like to honor numerous other world wide web web pages around the web,
    Penangkal Petir Mueven though they arent linked to us, Penangkal Petir by linking to them.


  4. شركة الاول للتنظيف و مكافحة الحشرات شركة الاول للتنظيف و مكافحة الحشرات
    شركة جلي بلاط بالرياض شركة جلي بلاط بالرياض
    افضل شركة تنظيف اثاث بالرياض افضل شركة تنظيف اثاث بالرياض
    شركة تنظيف مجالس بالرياض شركة تنظيف مجالس بالرياض

    أفضل شركة تنظيف بالقصيم  أفضل شركة تنظيف منازل بالقصيم 
    شركة مكافحة حشرات بالقصيم افضل شركة مكافحة حشرات بالقصيم
    شركة صيانة مكيفات بالرياض

    شركة عزل الاسطح بالرياض