Library awards Top Performing Library Personnel

It has been the yearly tradition of the Library to recognize its employees that have rendered exemplary service to the academic community. Held every December, everybody looks forward to being part of the ceremony either as an awardee, a performer, a judge, a master of ceremonies, or a thrilled spectator of who are going to be the stars of the day.

Barsaga, Alvarez as Best Dressed K-popper 
With the year 2012 theme of K-Popskuhan sa Aklatan, a number of staff came to the awarding ceremonies on December 19 dressed in Korean-inspired costumes. Darling of the crowd Agnes Barsaga, who wore a “Go Ara” attire complete with sunglasses and scarf, won first prize as the Best Dressed K-popper, Female Category. Willian Frias, who dressed as Sandara Park look-alike was awarded second prize for the same category while Josephine Galleon with her sexy “Sistar” get up, placed third. Blue colored hair John Alvarez bagged first prize in the Best Dressed K-popper, Male Category, with Norman Villareal, portraying as “Kim Dohoon”, awarded as second, and John David “Rain” Roasa,  came in as third.
Best Dressed K-Poppers
(from left to right: Agnes Barsaga, John David Roasa,
Josephine Galleon,  Willian Frias, and John Alvarez

Dancalan and Soriente are the STARs! It was a shining moment for Vivian Soriente and Avelino “Bing” Dancalan who won the STAR awards for the Academic Service Faculty and the Co-Academic Personnel categories, respectively. STAR award is given to a library staff who is Service-oriented, a good Team-player, Amiable and Reliable. Joining the roster of awardees were the following:
  • Joseph Yap and May Cajes – Mr. and Ms. Personality
  • Ulysis Balabat – Super CAP
  • Rafael Joseph Del Mundo – Promising New Comer
  • Avelino Dancalan – Most Loved Personnel
  • Yugosto Balbas – Leadership Award
  • Robert Cuenca – Customers’ Choice Award
  • Romualdo Adonis – Support Staff Excellence Award (Security and Maintenance Staff Category)
  • Janssen Arnold Verzosa – Support Staff Excellence Award (Contractual Staff Category)
The Top Performing Library Personnel (TPLP) Awards Committee was chaired by Ms. Elizabeth Padilla, recipient of the STAR award for the year 2011.